top of page

Should I Work For Free?

Updated: Apr 25, 2020

It's common in the creative industry, especially in photography, to turn your nose up at unpaid gigs. We all need to make money to be able to support ourselves (like buying food, paying rent, etc). Working for a cheaper price can also throw your fellow photographers under the bus. It can be hard for clients to see the true value of professional photos, because they may not understand all the work that goes into them. Lowballing yourself will also lowball your fellow creatives, which honestly just makes it harder for all of us!


(Note: When it's a TFP {Time For Prints: a model works with a photographer and both parties benefit-no cash is exchanged} it is a little different, the model doesn't charge and neither does the photographer because it's a collaboration. You're still getting "paid" by being able to use a good model, and you'll have exposure from that model's audience as well. In this case, no charging is necessary.)


However, this past summer I volunteered to work certain jobs unpaid. I'll admit, it is a little discouraging when you think about how much you could be getting paid for said job. But working for free also gives me free creative reign and an open timeline. I can edit in whatever style I like, I can take my time editing, and I only have to give the client the images I feel that represent me as an artist. I'm not required to give them photos I don't like!


Here a few reasons working for free in certain situations could be a good thing:




1. You're Volunteering Towards the Community

The volunteer photography work I've been doing has been for non-profit agencies. One event was for a fundraiser for an outdoor therapy organization that helps children with mental illness or abuse, and other gigs have been for a non-profit soccer team where everyone volunteers their time. Not only does it make me feel really good that I'm giving back to my community, but the clients are also super appreciative of the work I'm doing. They are always encouraging and grateful of the work you are doing for them! Doing volunteer work and community service hours are also great additions to your resume.




2. It Can Give You Good Connections

I feel incredibly appreciated by the managers of the organizations I've volunteered for. They remember my name and they introduce me to their colleagues. I know that if I wanted a recommendation or wanted to meet someone through them, I could!


Building a network and community of people is so important, and working for volunteer organizations gives you that opportunity! Mind you, I'm not even originally from the town I worked in! I felt more involved in this community than I did in my own hometown, six hours away.


3. It Can Improve Your Portfolio

My biggest goal is to break into the sports industry (which is INCREDIBLY difficult, especially for a girl my age who lacks real-world experience). I had so much fun photographing soccer, and not only was I helping out the local club and their need for promotional material, but THEY were helping ME out by giving me experience with very little expectations. I didn't need credentialed, I could go wherever I wanted, and they didn't expect me to have certain photos of certain plays...they were just excited to have me there!



In the end, it is really up to you and your brand whether you want to work for free. Photographers need to be paid for their work just like artists, however for someone trying to make connections and wanting to give back, volunteering for non-profits has been an amazing experience. If you're a college student like I once was, consider using a non-profit for some of your class projects. Make a difference in the world by giving back to your community!




16 views0 comments

Comentários


bottom of page