top of page

How To Be A Photographer In A Small Town



Working with a new audience is always tough. Whether you move to a new area, or you move back home after a few years of not being there, it can be awkward to continue business when you don't really have clients or connections.


My hometown is small...really small. Like, I graduated with 85 people and I know every one of their siblings, pets, and grandparents small. In a small town, you don't have a big audience to work with so you have less options. I left for school and moved away after graduation, and since COVID-19, I've had to move back and continue my photography business here. However, enough time has passed that a lot of my friends and their siblings have graduated and moved away. So now I'm basically working with a new audience! But this allows for creativity and an opportunity for learning and personal growth. I now have new obstacles, and it's time to work through them!

Here is what I've learned in the past few months of building my business in my hometown:


Everyone knows someone

The good thing about this is: you might be the someone they know. Congrats!


But in most cases, everyone knows an aunt or a cousin who received a Canon T3i for Christmas in 2010 and will volunteer to be a photographer for free. Or you have hobbyists who will try the whole photography thing for a few months and then get bored and move onto something new. And that's totally fine! Good for them! But from a business perspective: that's your competition. In a town with a small amount of people, hobbyists could take away a decent amount of your business if you don't work on standing out.

So be vocal about being a photographer without trying to sell too much. Offer a fun 30 minute photoshoot for free for some friends, or post fun photography anecdotes on Facebook. Invite your friends to like your page. If people know you're a good photographer, they'll reach out to you when you need it. In the meantime, work on your craft and make friends in your area.


People will be cheap

Photography is kind of a luxury, and some people don't need it, which is fine! You just have to do some digging around to find out the prices of your competition and how much the average person is going to be willing to spend on some photos. At my school, it's not required that students submit senior photos: they're optional. Therefore not everyone sees a need for a senior portrait session. Other photographers in Facebook photography groups may bully you for having low prices; but everyone has a different audience. If you have to lower your prices to the community standard, then do it. I personally feel like having a handful of clients paying a low amount is better than having NO clients paying a high amount!


Explore your town's history

My hometown is known for a few things: farming, trains, and bridges (isn't that every small town in the Midwest?) We have one traffic light, a few antique stores, and a lot of churches. As far as photography goes, that's not a lot to work with when taking portraits. I've learned to find the small places in my town that are markings for my location and it's history, and work with that. So train depots, historical signs, bridges, landmarks like parks and rivers, and when all else fails: fields.


The smart thing about this is when a potential client sees your photo on social media, they'll know exactly where you're located!


Find your go-to spots

EVERYONE in my town gets photos on our bridge. You can make photos look different with posing, angles, and even shooting at different times of the day! This way your photos won't all look the same.



Think outside your area

I have a radius of about 50 miles that I would be willing to drive for a shoot. The great thing about this is I can broaden my audience. More mileage=more towns=more people=more clients. Even if you grab a friend and drive a half hour to a new location, you'll have content that can be tagged in that area and will show your work to prospective clients.


If you have a friend who really wants to hire you but is far away, seriously consider doing it and just charging extra for driving time. I've driven to Columbus (3-ish hours away) before for a shoot and I never regretted it!


It takes time

I really think you have to be invested in one area for a few years to really see growth. It's not going to happen overnight! You can leave fliers and business cards all around town, but someone may not need a photographer for a year or two. With time, you will hone in your skills, find your style, grow your network, and meet more people.


Optional: Create an Ambassador program

The reason I haven't created an ambassador program is because I'm planning on moving out soon and I don't know how long I'll be here. If you've settled in your new location and you plan on being there for a few years, consider creating an ambassador program for seniors in your area. It works as great local marketing and then you'll have go-to models for other shoots you may want to do! Seniors can become ambassadors even when they're juniors, and then you'll have guaranteed shoots for their senior year.


Being a small-town photographer can be difficult, but it gives you great opportunity to connect with your local community. Hopefully these tips have eased your mind about starting your business in your hometown!





19 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page