top of page

What My Junior Year of College Taught Me


Photo Creds: @mikaylarusselphoto

Almost everyone I know in my graduating class had a tough year. I'll be honest...junior year sucks. You're old enough that classes aren't easy anymore and you have to start interning, but you're still too young to really plan for life after graduation, because let's face it: a lot changes in a year. You're stuck in this middle ground of wanting to go out and live in the moment but also being too tired to stay up past 10. With school, 2 jobs, extracurriculars, and a social life, junior year almost killed me. However, I finished my internship, I survived my 21st birthday, and I managed to stay on the Dean's List. Here are a few important things I learned through the process:


The Good Ones Will Stay In Your Life

I am so thankful for my best friends. I have some amazing people in my life, who will really be there for me through the end. In college you get busy, you drift apart, or sometimes even move, but as long as there's mutual effort, the good ones will stay in touch. Cherish those who care about you, and those who truly deserve to stay in your life will show it.


Be Selfless

Stay up with your best friend when she's having a rough night, even if you have homework to do. Let your partner take the reigns of a project that they're really excited about. Listen to other's opinions with an open mind. This year has taken a lot of patience, but I've learned that being selfless will always make things better.


Know When To Walk Away

Sometimes you just have to let go and walk away. This past year I was put in many different positions where I didn't feel appreciated. Once I realized my self-worth, it was much easier to take myself out of situations that weren't benefiting me. I learned I will never be able to make someone care about me or put effort towards me, and if someone isn't giving me the respect I deserve, I walk away! This allows me to take control of my own life and be free from negativity.


You're Not Always Going To Win

It's what you learn from it that counts.

At the College Cheerleading National Championships this year, we placed 5th. And at the World Cup Championships...we placed 2nd. Yes, we cried. Yes, it sucked. But learning how to lose has taught us resilience, perseverance, and pride in our work. We didn't get the placement we wanted, but I've never been more proud of a routine, and I've never felt more bonded to my teammates.

In life, you're not always going to win. You're going to have a lot of losses and a lot of screwups. As long as you're learning something from each experience, it's not wasted time or energy. I can honestly say nationals this year was one of my favorite experiences, and I wouldn't have wanted to lose with any other team.

"I have not failed. I've just found 10,000 ways that won't work." -Thomas A. Edison

Make The Most Of Everything

My final thought: time flies by fast. I'm done with 3/4 of my college career, and it feels like high school graduation was yesterday. Make every moment on your campus count. Meet as many awesome people as you can. Utilize class time to your advantage. Ask professors for help. College is a magical time and place where you have the world at your fingertips, where you can meet your future bridesmaids, find a great mentor, and discover your independence. Make every moment count because it'll be over before you know it.


Cheers,

Elsye



96 views0 comments

Comentarios


bottom of page